Dragon Arcana

Dragon Arcana The swashbuckling adventure perfect for fans of THE THREE MUSKETEERS continues This is Paris This is This is a world under attack from dragons Cardinal Richelieu is on his guard against the grea

  • Title: Dragon Arcana
  • Author: Pierre Pevel
  • ISBN: 9780575107922
  • Page: 288
  • Format: Hardcover
  • The swashbuckling adventure, perfect for fans of THE THREE MUSKETEERS continues This is Paris This is 1633 This is a world under attack from dragons Cardinal Richelieu is on his guard against the greatest danger he, or France, has faced A secret society known as the Black Claw is plotting in the shadows They have already struck twice, and with their third blow they mThe swashbuckling adventure, perfect for fans of THE THREE MUSKETEERS continues This is Paris This is 1633 This is a world under attack from dragons Cardinal Richelieu is on his guard against the greatest danger he, or France, has faced A secret society known as the Black Claw is plotting in the shadows They have already struck twice, and with their third blow they mean to finish their task Unless the Cardinal s Blades can stop them They are all prepared to risk their lives for the Crown, this time the question is not whether they will need to s whether or not they will survive Who are the Dragon Arcana, what secret are the Chatelaine nuns trying so hard to protect, and if an ancient dragon is unleashed on Paris will the Blades really stand a chance against it

    One thought on “Dragon Arcana”

    1. Чудесна идея, но твърде суховато изпълнение за мен Всъщност не успях да видя почти нищо от този иначе стилен свят, тъй да се каже. Твърде много припомняне на материала (подробности с маловажно значение, главно), много по-малко действие.

    2. Being the third book of a series that I like I was always going to go into this book with a positive outlook. I would forgive any minor indiscretions and overlook the odd issue here and there. So please keep that in mind when I say that this was definitely not the best book in the series.This novel seems to serve more to set things up for something big in some possible future novel and as such not a lot is satisfyingly resolved in this book.That said there are a number of significant things that [...]

    3. Тази част беше много по-добра от предишната, но съвсем не толкова задоволителна. Отново се разтягаха локуми, а героите не ни разкриха нищо ново от себе си. Въпреки това имаше интересни моменти и любопитни разкрития в края. Завършекът ми допадна, най-вече съдбата на героите (м [...]

    4. Le dragon des arcanes clôt brillamment les aventures des Lames du Cardinal, et comme je me suis promis d'en terminer cette année avec un certain nombre de sagas commencées depuis des lustres, il était plus que temps de retrouver le Capitaine La Fargue et ses hommes. Le récit de Pierre Pevel est extrêmement rythmé, encore plus dans ce dernier volume que dans les précédents. Les événements s'enchaînent à toute allure, et c'est presque avant d'avoir eu le temps de réaliser que je me s [...]

    5. Ce roman est un final absolument fabuleux à ce qui se révèle donc une trilogie. On y découvre que les complots vus dans les précédents tomes n'étaient, en fait, qu'une simple mise en route pour celui de ce dernier tome.Il y aura donc du sang, des larmes, et des combats dans des endroits aussi variés que spectaculaires. Par exemple, le chapitre final est, en un sens, un monument de combats parallèles se rassemblant dans une scène finale incroyable et specatculaire. Oh, je parlais de la [...]

    6. Comme dans les précédents tomes, le livre commence directement en pleine action mais cette fois-ci elle s’avère plus prenante (mais je ne veux pas trop en dire…). Cependant les flash back utilisés sont un peu déroutants.Plus d’action et même si les combats dans les précédents tomes me plaisaient déjà (étaient même mes parties préférées) elles sont encore mieux dans ce troisième livre!Concernant certains mystères sur les principaux protagonistes on nous éclaire enfin, comm [...]

    7. The end of a curious trilogy from Pierre Pevel. The dragons are all-pervasive this time around and the main heroes are even more two-dimensional than thus far, each going their own way at the mercy of the plot. The novel actually consists of four almost separate stories, reminiscent of a quadrilogy of novellas, which further destroys any possibilities of telling about the characters, rather than the plot.Pierre Pevel is one of those authors who constantly breaks the rule of "show, don't tell", m [...]

    8. Suite et fin (?) des aventures des Lames du Cardinal, dans un dernier tome apocalyptique. Des secrets y sont révélés, mais l'univers reste assez riche pour y vivre d'autres aventures. Pour les Lames, par contre, ce tome va être rude et certains y laisseront leur vie. Pierre Pevel garde ce style d'aventures historiques qui nous font revivre Paris, mais je trouve que la "mise en scène" est moins forte et dynamique que dans Wielstadt. Le fond est par contre aussi prenant, et tout s'enchaîne p [...]

    9. Même remarque que sur les tomes précédents. Même si un effort est fait pour mieux les intégrer, les digressions historiques gênent la lecture et la plongée dans l'histoire. En conséquence de quoi, les rebondissements de l'histoire me paraissent déplacés voire incongrus et finalement l'histoire en devient mécanique, à la limite manichéenne. Encore une fois dommage, car dans le fond, tous les ingrédients sont là pour faire une bonne histoire mais la magie n'a pas fonctionné pour mo [...]

    10. A very good way to end a trilogy I enjoyed reading very much.As is Pevel's way, the book was highly descriptive of Paris and you could almost walk yourself through it. Throughout the book it had the feeling of a finale and the end very much lends itself to that effect. Although there was a hint that this universe could carry on in separate stories at a later date.I can only hope that that is the case, as this was a fantastic fantasy series. Throughout the series dragons were present but never th [...]

    11. Ce livre m'a paru meilleur que les précédents. J'ai eu l'impression que l'auteur avait réduit ses exposés sur l'histoire et la ville de Paris en 1633. D'ailleurs le point de vue du narrateur est un problème dans ces livres : il change trop souvent, ne laissant aucun temps aux personnages de bien se poser dans l'esprit du lecteur. Et quand le narrateur devient omniscient, c'est pour dire les choses au lecteur au lieu de le laisser voir ou deviner.Ceci dit, l'histoire se déroule bien (pas au [...]

    12. c2011: FWFTB: Chatelaine, nuns, Paris, vision, protect. Another fast-paced outing of the Cardinal's Blade with a lot of closure for some of the characters. Not necessarily the outcomes that I was looking for, though and some not detailed enough. There is a clue in the ending pages that there may be more to come. Perhaps that was why I felt there were some loose ends to be sorted out. Recommended to those of the normal crew that have read the first 2 of the series. "So he started to make good his [...]

    13. Four stars because it made me sad over and over again, and that's not an easy accomplishment. The ending was a little unsatisfying. The plot was more than a little convoluted and ran off in different directions at whim, but then again Dumas did the same, so I guess I shouldn't complain too much. I guess my biggest gripe is actually that I want another book. And a certain character to not be dead. Le sad.

    14. Ce dernier tome ne m'a pas déçue mais m'a plutôt laissé sur ma fin. J'ai tout de même été entrainée dans l'histoire grâce à l'écriture et aux personnages. Une fois l'intrigue lancée, le livre trouve son rythme de croisière entre scènes d'action (la dernière partie du livre est haletante à ce point de vue), descriptions plus historique et discussion. Les personnages sont toujours aussi attachants et je regrette vraiment de ne pas en savoir plus sur eux.

    15. see my review of the first/second book of the series for more:/review/show I would add that book 3 brings the series to a satisfying end and explains most of the mysteries from the first two books but the suspension of disbelief required is even more, the cast/world is not fresh any more and I mostly kept turning the pages to see what happens rather than being engaged in the action

    16. Le dernier volet de la trilogie des Lames du Cardinal est aussi long à décoller que les 2 précédents, mais le final m'a bien plu. Il y a de l'action, bien sûr, mais aussi des réponses aux nombreuses questions qui avaient été posées depuis le premier volume. Je garderai finalement un bon souvenir de cette trilogie malgré des défauts parfois agaçants.

    17. A nice send-off to the characters of the series. Although it ostensibly involves dragons and sorcery, it's only for superficial details -- this is primarily an adventure novel in the vein of the 3 Musketeers. It bears the downside of an ensemble adventure work -- each character is repeatedly put into peril, so by the end of it I was in cliffhanger fatigue.

    18. An action-filled end to the series. We hit the critical point in the hidden struggle with the Black Claw and several people we know die in this story and others make decisions that change the Blades forever.

    19. The final volume of the Cardinal's Blades, and Paris is burning -- or it will be, if the Blades fail in their last and deadliest mission. High stakes, noble causes, tragedy, and a heart-poundingly tense stand-off in Notre Dame make this the best of the series.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *