Hollywood Shakedown

Hollywood Shakedown Buddy Chinn the son of a lauded beat poet from the seventies is happy to follow the dishonourable family tradition of booze bets books and broads Then at Hollywood Park one winter Saturday aftern

  • Title: Hollywood Shakedown
  • Author: Mark Barry
  • ISBN: null
  • Page: 143
  • Format: ebook
  • Buddy Chinn, the son of a lauded beat poet from the seventies, is happy to follow the dishonourable family tradition of booze, bets, books and broads Then, at Hollywood Park one winter Saturday afternoon, two tough guys persuade him to join them on a trip to Damascus, a sprawling mansion off Mulholland Drive, a palace surrounded by a forest of imported trees and lush vegeBuddy Chinn, the son of a lauded beat poet from the seventies, is happy to follow the dishonourable family tradition of booze, bets, books and broads Then, at Hollywood Park one winter Saturday afternoon, two tough guys persuade him to join them on a trip to Damascus, a sprawling mansion off Mulholland Drive, a palace surrounded by a forest of imported trees and lush vegetation.There, he meets Mortimer Saxon, a, reclusive obsessive manuscript collector with an edge A sharp suited zealot searching for Buddy s dad s fabled Lost Manuscript a one off, a unique piece worth thousands and thousands of dollars, an American literary icon similar in cult magnitude to Hunter S Thompson s Call to the Post He asks Buddy whether he can help Buddy hasn t a clue Not a scooby Trouble is, Mortimer doesn t believe him Over the finest steak dinner Buddy has ever eaten, the collector makes him a proposition Find the manuscript and make one hundred thousand dollars Fail to find the manuscript and lose body parts on instruments restored from Inquisition times.Worse, he s given two weeks and no choice Along with a British comic dealer friend, the two men go on a quest for the manuscript which takes them to the biggest library in the world in Venice Beach, a riotous chess tournament in Chicago, a pulsating FA Cup match in London and back again to the City of Angels All the time he s worried about his independent minded squeeze Monique, who, like a very independent minded cat, only ever comes home when she wants feeding Hoping against hope that the manuscript exists Avoiding snipers, hitmen, hooligans, the attentions of strange seventies goons and an alluring, hyper sexy bad girl with a fetishistic interest in low life big guy writers Developing respect and admiration in an age of endangered male friendships, the odd couple face a race against time to find the manuscript, a contest which leads to a pulse pounding climax, one in which Buddy has to face his deepest, darkest fears.

    One thought on “Hollywood Shakedown”

    1. Mark Barry has an undeniable talent. His use of language is rich and unique. I don't know anyone that can possibly write quite like he does. He certainly is in a league of his own.Hollywood Shakedown is packed with unpredictable twists and turns. I would have a hard time describing this story but as a reader, I really enjoyed the clever plot that was told as smooth as cream.Be prepared for some dark and dirty moments, that is just part of the appeal. You won't want to put this book down, as it i [...]

    2. I have read all of Mark Barry’s books now and for some reason his first as been left until my last. He is the most under-rated writer I know and I would encourage, urge you to read any of his books, there is something for everyone as he is a multi-genre writer and novelist. Hollywood Shakedown is his debut novel and it is astonishingly good. It follows the misfortunes of barfly and loser Buddy Chinn. Buddy lacks enthusiasm for almost everything apart from drinking, betting on the ponies and Mo [...]

    3. Buddy Chinn loves three things; betting on the horses, alcohol and his unreliable girlfriend, Monique. He’s an erstwhile writer, although nowhere near his famous father’s league, and would easily make a good living, if he could be bothered. Thirty eight years old and nothing much to show for it, he’s content to let life pass him by. Until one day at Hollywood Park he’s approach by two hoodlums who take him to meet Mortimer Saxon, a fanatical collector of the work of American writers.Afte [...]

    4. Having read a handful of more recent works by Mark Barry and become a bona fide fan, I went back to one of his earlier books to see just where this author’s irreverent, original voice had emerged from, and, while he has – as all authors must – evolved, this earlier work (originally published in 2012) is a stellar read, at once intriguing, funny, detailed and, as all Barry books are, deeply original.Narratively set in Los Angeles, Chicago, and London (two thirds of which I have hands-on kno [...]

    5. Hollywood Shakedown is an atmospheric crime novel in the tradition of Chandler and Ellroy. Set against a backdrop of the seedy side of LA, the plot is driven by a quest to find a rare manuscript that may or may not exist and Barry takes us on a breakneck journey with mini-sojourns in Chicago and London along the way.The main protagonist is Buddy Chinn, a writer who doesn’t write but spends all his time drinking, gambling and wondering about the whereabouts of his lover and soul mate Monique in [...]

    6. 4.5 starsI can't believe this is only 99p! It's a bumper blockbuster of a book, a slightly tongue-in-cheek crime/gangster thriller that races from Los Angeles to Chicago, to London and back again. It reminded me in some ways of a Jackie Collins, and certainly of the weighty and multi-faceted popular fiction heavyweights of the 1980s.Buddy Chinn is a lazy, alcoholic, not very successful writer, passionately in love with the wayward Monique. His trial starts when he meets dastardly rare manuscript [...]

    7. The author has expertly woven a tale of greed and lust into a compelling story of a ruthless man’s quest to obtain a missing manuscript. The wealthy Mortimer Saxon coerces Buddy Chinn to do his bidding, tempting the alcoholic writer with money, but threatening his life and the life of his woman, Monique, should he fail. We are introduced to many worlds in this thriller, from racetracks and bars to chess tournaments and British football. Mr. Barry immerses the reader quickly into the intrigue, [...]

    8. Hollywood Shakedown is a wild ride. No lack of action in this one. Compelling characters, fascinating interplay between characters. The dark side of human nature at it's best. You root for Buddy all the way through. This is an adventure not to be missed. I hope there is a sequel in the works

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *