Indiana Gothic: A Story of Adultery and Murder in an American Family

Indiana Gothic A Story of Adultery and Murder in an American Family In the tradition of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil and In Cold Blood comes a riveting novel of love betrayal and murder based on true events from America s past

  • Title: Indiana Gothic: A Story of Adultery and Murder in an American Family
  • Author: Pope Brock
  • ISBN: 9780385485098
  • Page: 132
  • Format: Hardcover
  • In the tradition of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil and In Cold Blood comes a riveting novel of love, betrayal, and murder, based on true events from America s past.

    One thought on “Indiana Gothic: A Story of Adultery and Murder in an American Family”

    1. In this true-life drama, Pope Brock relates his family’s story, one that resonates today with ominous insight into the heart of American culture. "Indiana Gothic" is set at a time when women were utterly dependent upon men; they had no equality, no vote, and not much choice other than to to marry and raise children. They certainly didn’t serve on a “jury of peers.” Victorian exaltation of love was bolstered by biblical admonitions to conform and prosper. But, alas, Camelot is twisted whe [...]

    2. I found this book quite the turner. I’m not sure if that is due to the story, writing style, that it’s about Indiana in the early part of the 20th century, or that my family history includes a similar story. For whatever reason I recommend the book and look forward to reading Charlatan!

    3. I was excited to read this after loving his other book "charlatan". But it was really boring and I just gave up

    4. Pope Brock's Charlatan, which came to me as a gift, encouraged me to seek out the author's previous book. I was not disappointed. Indiana Gothic, a scrupulously honest exploration of an illicit relationship that led to murder three generations back in the author's family, will surely become a classic of modern American writing. The early years of Ham Dillon's life on a small farm in the mid-west are sketched with perceptive detail and a light touch. Felicitous phrases shine on almost every page; [...]

    5. I think I actually found this book more entrancing than "Charlatan." That is a bit contrary to my expectations. I mean, how do you get more interesting than the idea that there was a doctor sewing goat testicles into people? I think it just goes to show how wonderfully Pope puts the story together in this book. I know he used the facts as he managed to find them out, but he put them together in such a way as to really bring out the story- bring the characters to life and communicate to the reade [...]

    6. Not sure about books such as these. Although they ostensibly cover "true" stories, they are essentially works of fiction woven around known facts, many of which are scarce on the ground. The book undeniably gets interesting towards the end when it has courtroom drama, and this is probably where the facts are the most thick on the ground.It is fictionalized because there is much dialogue as well as discussion of feelings and thoughts from the leading characters that cannot, or course, be known, o [...]

    7. I found it hard to 'get into' this book at a time when I only had short reading opportunities, and indeed put it aside once or twice, but once I persevered with a longer read, it began to weave a spell. It's a 'fictionalised' account of a true story from the author's family about the rivalry between two sisters and how one of them, unhappily married herself, enters into a longstanding clandestine affair with her sister's charismatic husband, even bearing his child. I won't spoil the ending, whic [...]

    8. The idea of this book is fantastic: a relative stumbles upon a scandal from several generations back in his family and uses the opportunity to learn some family history and write the tale. It is a cross between fiction and non-fiction because the author has to "fill in the gaps" where no documents were available for certain details. The parts I liked, I really liked, and the parts that were slow or dragged on, well, just that.

    9. I liked this. I liked that i was a true story, and that some of it had to be fictionalized to fill in gaps didn't bother me. It was a gripping story. I wish we had seen more from Maggie's perspective, but we almost never do, so she remained kind of an enigma. It was a captivating read.

    10. Book was good not great. Liked Charlatan by this author much more. Did not know what was fiction or true in the book which detracted from enjoyment . Author was excellent in unobtrusively dropping historical tidbits about how people lived in the early 20th century.

    11. Well-written story based on a true family event. It would have been nice if Brock had provided more notes because it was hard to know between what he had discovered in his research and what he had to "make up."

    12. This title created great expectations that weren't met at all. It's good entertainment, nice summer/beach reading but that's it. There isn't a hint of gothic narrative, imaginary or even symbolisms and aesthetics. It's a marketing trap.

    13. Really enjoyed this account of an event that happened to the author's ancestors in turn-of-the-century central Indiana. Seems to be a favorite time period for me, and the author did a great job of evoking a specific time and place.

    14. A little annoying in the liberties the author took in speculating what the (real-life) characters were thinking and saying to each other. (This was a true-life murder trial--referred to as the turn-of-the-centuries equivalent of the OJ Simpson trial.) But a very gripping story.

    15. Family love trianges are nothing new! I really enjoyed the book. The author tackled a family scandal and it was very interesting how it still affected his family decades later.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *