Don't Push the Button!

Don t Push the Button There s only one rule in Larry s book don t push the button Seriously don t even think about it Even if it does look kind of nice you must never push the button Who knows what would happen Okay qui

  • Title: Don't Push the Button!
  • Author: Bill Cotter
  • ISBN: 9781402287466
  • Page: 379
  • Format: Hardcover
  • There s only one rule in Larry s book don t push the button Seriously, don t even think about it Even if it does look kind of nice, you must never push the button Who knows what would happen Okay, quick No one is looking push the button.Uh, oh.

    One thought on “Don't Push the Button!”

    1. This fun, interactive book stars Larry, the purple monster. He is friendly, happy and completely non-threatening. He is having a meltdown because he has privy to a red button and he knows you are not to push it. He agonizes over the fact that that button is off limitsbut oh he wants you to push it sooooooo badly. He tempts the reader to just give it a little tap and of course when that happens Larry's world changes. His beautiful purple turns him yellow, them gives him spots and then multiplies [...]

    2. Cute and fun in terms of the interactive element but I'm glad it was just a library check-out and for my home library will gravitate to other titles in the genre that don't encourage doing something you're not supposed to do (though there are consequences and it could be a good springboard for discussion). I can see older kids would be "in" on it but it might send mixed messages with very young ones.

    3. Well, it's an awful lot like Press Here, and almost as good. But that instruction is framed positively, and this negatively, so imo that one wins. (Also, I like that the other does not have a character guide, and also it does make me giggle out loud every time I 'play' it.) I do hope to find more by the author of this, though.

    4. It starts on page one when Larry the monster warns the readers “Don’t push the button.” The warnings get stronger and stronger until Larry just can’t stand it. He has to know what happens when someone does push the button. What could possibly go wrong?Larry has all the sass of Mo Willem’s Pigeon (Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus) and just as clearly recognizes both that sass and a few defiant tendencies in young readers. But don’t think he is just Pigeon in a monster suit. Althou [...]

    5. My thoughts: Don’t – well of course, means ‘Do’; and ‘not push buttons’, well, not going to happen. That is exactly what this book expects from its readers – the title makes sure of it, the words tempt us, and the bright, super-cute illustrations seal the deal.This book is temptation for the littlest readers – the cute little devil that prompts them (and even us) to do all that parents do not want us to do – I am sure looks like Larry.I can just hear the giggles resulting from [...]

    6. I didn't want to like this as much as I did. There are quite a few books floating around already that are interactive. We have Press Here as well as Tap the Magic Tree. There's also the fact that Don't Push the Button! owes much credit to The Monster at the End of this Book (Sesame Street). I've never been a fan of riding the coattails as they say. However, this is the first of the mentioned four fourth wall breaking books that I have decided that would work well with a large group of children ( [...]

    7. Don't Push the Button! by Bill Cotter is an interactive picturebook schedule for release on November 1 2013. Larry is a monster, and he has only one rule; that no one press the button in the book. However, curiosity becomes too much for Larry and he urges the reader to press said button when no one is looking. Pressing the button has some unexpected consequences, which leads to more button pressing, book shacking, and all sorts of fun.Don't Push the Button! has delightful illustrations and a fun [...]

    8. There are few books that I am so enamored by in the children's book world that I will actually get the e-arc version (because typically e-arcs and children's books don't tend to play nicely together. I think that the reverse psychology that is used in Don't Push the Button worked so well that it got me to request this book!Don't Push the Button follows the idea of past books like The Monster at the End of this Book, the Pigeon series, and other books that break the third wall in kids books. I lo [...]

    9. Participation storytime gold in the vein of Press Here, Duck's Not Afraid of the Dark, Stop Kissing Me!, The Monster at the End of this Book, Count the Monkeys, and Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus!. Only wish it was longer!

    10. This is a fun and interactive children's book. This is about curiosity and what child does not want to push a button, especially when they have been told not to? Larry the monster gets too curious and encourages the reader to push the button when no one is looking. But from pressing the button, Larry gets a shock and perhaps is a warning to all the kids who want the push the button in future.This is a perfect story to share with children as adults enjoy it too, its full of fun, it's bright and c [...]

    11. This is a really cute book that would be great for early readers. There are not too many words on the page and is highly entertained. The author did a really good job at keeping as few words as possible to a page. The colors used in the book contrast with each other creating a visually appealing picture book. Kids will be highly entertained as the book interacts with them while being able to "push the button" and seeing the consequences that follow with it. It will allow kids to not only practic [...]

    12. I read this to my two year old who was absolutely in riots throughout the book! Very fun and interactive! He loved seeing what would happen when he pushed the button. The illustrations and text were simple and engaging. Highly recommend to anyone with young children!

    13. Forrest got this book from his grandparents for Christmas--it's been 24 hours and I think we've already read it about 24 times, so I think it's safe to say that he loves it a lot.

    14. Few books keep Aiden entertained (I know.e book lover in me is dying) but this one had him engrossed. He even shouted, "Oh no!" after pushing the button. So this one's a winner.

    15. Any book that both allows and encourages my son to poke and shake it is going to come out on top of the Bedtime Favorite Reading List each night. He couldn't get enough of this book and had it memorized by the time it was returned to the library. And god help you if you forget any of the words. Poor Grandma who's eyesight and exact reading of picture book words is not exactly the best, may have gotten a good talking to about reading the book right. From the three year old LOL. Definitely recomme [...]

    16. I got this book personalized for my nephew with his name and picture! It's super cute and he loves it!! We have so much fun reading it!

    17. This review was originally written for The Baby Bookworm. Visit us for new picture books reviews daily!Hello, friends! Today, we read Don’t Push The Button! by Bill Cotter, a delightful interactive book that’s full of laughs and surprises. There’s only one rule in Larry’s book: don’t push the button! Even though it’s a really cool-looking button. I mean, nobody’s looking, maybe you could just push the button once – uh oh! Now there’s all sorts of problems that you and Larry mus [...]

    18. picture bookPublished 2013 (Note: Press Here by Hervé Tullet was published in 2011)Larry the Monster has one rule: Don't push the button. But it probably won't hurt anything if you do. What will happen?!So this is pretty much a rip off of Hervé Tullet's amazing book Press Here. But that doesn't make it any less exciting to toddlers who love how interactive it is. One thing I don't care for is that Larry kind of peer pressures the audience into pushing the button saying, "Psst! No one is lookin [...]

    19. This was the big winner this week at story time! It even beat out Dinosaur Kisses. The kids LOVED it. It is an interactive book, the kids "push" the button and something happens on the next page to the monster in the story. You have to push, shake and scratch the book to get the monster back to normal. The kids were crowding around so they could each take a turn pushing the button. I think this was the most fun story time we have ever had because of this book!

    20. 5 stars.What happens: Larry wants you to enjoy your visit in his book. There's just one little, teeny, tiny rule--no pushing the button! However, even Larry can't resist trying it out and, it turns out, all kinds of funny little things happen when the button is pushed.The good: First off, Larry is adorable. He reminds me of the boov from "Home" and I seriously love the Boov.

    21. I love little interactive picture books in which the reader is involved in the story line. As an adult, I am there pushing the 1 dimensional button and shaking the book. This would be a fun story to read aloud to primary students.

    22. I still like "Press Here" better as an interactive book, but this one was pretty cute, too. I can imagine making buttons with kids in storytime so they can all press their own buttons during the story as we're reading it. Definitely one to keep in mind for the future

    23. This book has only one rule: don't push the little red button. This would be a good book to read to little kids because it is so interactive. Give them turns coming up and pushing the red button.

    24. This gets 3 stars from me but 5 stars from my 3 year-old and 6 year-old. They think it's the greatest thing since sliced bread.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *