Riding On Air

Riding On Air For readers of Jenny Downham John Greene and Maureen McCarthy a poignant young adult romance about following your dreams and realising what really matters What can you do when your own hands are the

  • Title: Riding On Air
  • Author: MaggieGilbert
  • ISBN: 9780857990457
  • Page: 281
  • Format: ebook
  • For readers of Jenny Downham, John Greene and Maureen McCarthy, a poignant young adult romance about following your dreams and realising what really matters.What can you do when your own hands are the enemy Hold on tight, for as long as it takes.Melissa has secrets Sure it s pretty obvious she has Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis, but no one knows how bad it is or how manyFor readers of Jenny Downham, John Greene and Maureen McCarthy, a poignant young adult romance about following your dreams and realising what really matters.What can you do when your own hands are the enemy Hold on tight, for as long as it takes.Melissa has secrets Sure it s pretty obvious she has Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis, but no one knows how bad it is or how many pills she takes for the pain She s determined to make her horse Jinx into a champion and she dreams that her childhood friend William will one day see her, rather than her condition.So when William asks her out and Jinx is shortlisted for selection in an elite training program, it seems Melissa s dreams have come true But when her secrets are exposed, all those dreams come crashing down around her Can William ever forgive her And can she learn about letting go in time to truly ride on air when it matters most

    One thought on “Riding On Air”

    1. See more of my reviews at Me You and My ShelfWow, this book was an amazing breath of fresh air for me. So why did I only give it 3.5/5 stars? Even though I enjoyed it a lot, and it stands out well from the rest of the pack, there was a lot that could've been done better.Ok, I love horses. A lot. Even more than reading. Yet, last year, I gave up on horse books. Why? Because 90% of horse books follow one of these stock plots:Plot AGirl can't have a horse.Girl finds abandoned/wild/troubled horse.Gi [...]

    2. 4.5 starsI really enjoyed this book, but I think that readers with little interest in horses aren't going to be so engaged. Lots of horsey and dressage stuff, which I loved. Great protagonist, too. Can you tell I really, really liked this??Full review Review:One guess why I wanted to read Riding on Air. Yup, it’s got a horse on the cover. Riding plays a big, big part of the story, so if you find horses boring, you might have a problem feeling engaged in the plot. That wasn’t a problem for me [...]

    3. With a simplistic storyline all about riding and romance, Riding On Air was a sweet, romantic novel, with horses and equestrian involved, it is perfect for a light summer read for all horse-lovers!Though it starts out slow, and maybe a little daunting to those who lack knowledge of horses or riding. However, for the lover of horses, this will prove to be a fun read because of the very accurate and detailed descriptions. I'm a horse lover! However, after a while, you'll be stuck staring at the wo [...]

    4. At First Sight: At 16, Melissa dreams of becoming a champion at Dressage with her horse Jinx, an already difficult goal that is even more complicated due to the fact that Melissa has JRA (Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis) and sometimes her hands get so stiff she can barely stand the pain.But now, her dream seems to be within reach as she and Jinx caught the eye of the person in charge of selecting the national juvenile team and they have a big competition coming up.Yet everything is put in jeopardy [...]

    5. This story fell way short for me. I have to say it was okay, nothing special about it, it was just a story. Boring and drawn out. This would have been a great idea for a short story, but it was unevenly paced and just so downright simple. No complexity. The only things I really did enjoy were how factual it was about horses, something I very much enjoy and the setting of being around horses. I picked this up with the expectations of getting to live in the horse world, and I got that but it fell [...]

    6. Riding on Air was kind of an average book. I wouldn't say it was bad, but at the same time it wasn't great. There were many things I liked about the book, and some I disliked.Yay! for: The general premise of the story: going for your dreams even when the going gets tough. That right there is pretty inspirational, but when you read the story, it you really get the extent to which a person can go. Melissa's bothers. I've always, always, ALWAYS wanted an elder brother, and reading about Melly's bro [...]

    7. Melissa has Rheumatoid Arthritis which mainly affects her hands. She wants to ride her horse Jinx, because she thinks he's got amazing potential. Because of that she has to keep secrets from the people who love her. William often helps her out and when she falls he's by her side. When Melissa has the chance to go to an exclusive training camp it's a dream come true. Will she actually manage? And what will her decisions mean for the relationship she has with William?Riding on Air is a beautiful s [...]

    8. This is a wonderful and intense read that places the reader firmly in the saddle and takes of on a thrilling equestrian adventure. Be prepared to grip the reins tightly and wonder if Melissa, the main character, will clear the obstacles and jumps that are before her in her quest to become an equestrian champion. Just one of those hurdles is Juvenile Arthritis which cripples her hands with pain but cannot stop her dreams. Throw in a wonderfully handsome and wise boyfriend, William, who will do an [...]

    9. I was so excited to receive this book, not only because it is based in Australia, but because the Main Protagonist Melissa, has Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis. As a young sufferer of Rheumatoid Arthritis myself it makes it very easy to feel for Melissa and her struggles, As a young teenager, she is also refusing to give into her illness and give up on her dreams of being a dressage rider, but denial of her condition, has her lying to the people she loves most.Riding on air is a sweet and at time [...]

    10. I couldn't decide if I would rate it 2 or 3 stars, so it's more of 2.5 but edging closer to 2.The story was about Melissa, a girl with Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis. She's depending on her pills to keep her hands in good shape to keep riding Jinx, her horse. Her childhood friend William then asks her out, and Jinx is shortlisted for selection in an elite training program. But of course, the problems come crashing down on her.I liked the basic concept of the novel: the girl with the Arthritis who [...]

    11. Suffering from Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis, Melissa loves her horse more than anything. So much so that endures excruciating pain just to ride, train and compete with him. All too show off a horse that no one wanted, that she knows is so special. Add a hot Polocrosse player that she has been crushing for what seems like forever and some loyal friends and you are in the center of her world.What I Loved.***SPOILER ALERT***I have a book crush on William! He is my absolutely my most favorite part [...]

    12. I've never really understood rheumatoid arthritis before. This story was a real eye-opener for what suffererswell, suffer. Their joints swollen and in pain, the inability to do the simplest of tasks--braid your hair, button or unbutton your coat, text on a cell phone, and ride your horse.Melissa loves riding and loves her horse Jinx, but she can no longer control her horse and thus, she probably shouldn't be on him. He throws her off a few times and she gets seriously hurtbut she stubbornly keep [...]

    13. I really enjoyed Maggie's book Riding on Air, This moving story of young Melissa who wants to do nothing more than ride her beloved Jinxi in the state Dressage Competition, but having Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthrits means its harder than for her than most. Add in her crush suddenly showing interest and things get complicated. While this book is aimed at Young Adults it's a great read for everyone. It was obvious that Maggie had put a lot of research into this book with details about horses, show ju [...]

    14. A great book if you love horses or romance or both!!!Maggie has written a perfect young adult romance that is fun, insightful, educational and touches on memories of the past for us slightly older readers.She draws upon her obvious extensive knowledge of horses and horse training (read her bio) in a way that will appeal to the readers of Saddle Club etc and on her study of people (as writers do) in a way that is natural and will have readers nodding along in understanding. Read it ! You won't re [...]

    15. I wish my sixteen year old self could read this book. It's perfect - horses, best friends and a dreamy boy. Even as a much older reader I thoroughly enjoyed it. It's heavy on horse detail so if you're not horsey, it's probably not for you, but that's what I loved. There's a real authenticity to a story that's so detailed you can feel the frustration at being unable to get the shoulder-in working. And the fall brought back a few aches and pains for me too. A lovely story, but I'm kind of sad too. [...]

    16. I can sympathize greatly with the main character - I don't have arthritis in my hands but I've got really bad tendonitis from working with horses currently and it's starting to interfere with my riding so I can definitely relate. Loved the simple writing and the character development.

    17. Amazingly easy read. A great double love story with a message of strength and what true friendship is like. A must read for horse lovers, and those who just love a good, clean love story.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *