The Grinding

The Grinding Six months ago the world watched in horror as we lost an American city The Grinder That s what the survivors of Tucson called the monster Just one touch and they became a part of it It used their bo

  • Title: The Grinding
  • Author: Matt Dinniman
  • ISBN: 9781939065339
  • Page: 210
  • Format: Paperback
  • Six months ago, the world watched in horror as we lost an American city The Grinder That s what the survivors of Tucson called the monster Just one touch, and they became a part of it It used their bodies as limbs and as weapons In just a matter of hours, it became huge, a towering monstrosity made entirely out of tens of thousands of people and animals This isn t beSix months ago, the world watched in horror as we lost an American city The Grinder That s what the survivors of Tucson called the monster Just one touch, and they became a part of it It used their bodies as limbs and as weapons In just a matter of hours, it became huge, a towering monstrosity made entirely out of tens of thousands of people and animals This isn t behind the scenes bullshit from the point of view of the military This isn t yet another conspiracy theory about what really happened to Air Force One that night, or about the decision to nuke Tucson This is a rare, eyewitness account from someone who was there, in the midst of the destruction But most importantly, this is the terrifying truth.

    One thought on “The Grinding”

    1. How do you fight a giant lasagna made of living (and dead) flesh with charred human body parts like ground beef sprinkled on top who has absorbed your girlfriend into its ball of writhing skin, organs and limbs that is rapidly sucking the city of Tuscan into its fold of pulsating tissue?You recruit a couple of former reality TV stars and a veterinarian and put together a plan.I picked up the audio book for this one some time ago and finally decided to give it a go. I am glad that I did. The audi [...]

    2. 2.5 starsThis was the most farfetched thing I ever read. It started out good but then just became silly. If this story had some comedy in it it might be a good horror/scifi spoof, but stupid without funny doesn't work for me.

    3. This is a great book. Well-written, and with a truly unique monster. In this day-and-age, that is hard to do.Very well thought out and easy to read.

    4. I first off want to get to the point that this book was everything that I expected and more. I love a good scary story whether it is in a book or movie. All of the descriptions were so vivid that I felt like I was there in the middle of the action. There was no person that was forgotten by the Grinder’s wrath. I was a little shocked that it included babies and little children in it’s destruction, but that made it all the more realistic to how it would be if something of this magnitude came t [...]

    5. We together like two peas in a pod.When I first met you, I'm sure you thought I was odd.We worked 'round each other, each and every day.We'd fight and argue, till it became just play.From there we shared our sorrows,and tried to tame our fears.Some things you can't recover from. I feel your tears.One day some shit happens.It was utterly surreal.I couldn't be there for you.I thought that you were killed.Then, my phone rings,and I put it to my ear.It's youYou're alive.My heart beats anew."Don't wo [...]

    6. From page one I was hooked and not in a blob freezing kind of way ;)I have to say this, I was quite impressed. Horror isn't a normal genre for me, but I was intrigued by the blurb and the sci-fi feel. Toss in a little romanticism (The MC and wife, the friends, etc), an unexplainable blob with some freaky powers, a lot of crap blowing up you get the idea. As I read, I found myself laughing here and there, which helps to lighten the OMG WE'RE ALL GOING TO DIE atmosphere.The characters were some o [...]

    7. Oh My Goodness what a great book, the horror fan in my is pleased!!This Necro story is a page turner and pins you to your chair till the end.The monster will sneak up on you and just take you!It is high level horror, not nasty but down to earth scary!!! Adam wants just one thing, not being a hero, but just to find his wife and be with her. Loved the twins! Monster, horror, Necro fans this is a MUST read.I can NOT wait to read more from Matt. Well done!I received a copy of this book for a honest [...]

    8. I'd like to thank Promotional Book Tours and the author for giving me a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.This was one scary as heck book, and I usually shy away from horror. The point of view that it was written from made it even more realistic, coming from a first hand experience, and written so well. It was extremely descriptive, and the author brought the one thing into it that I absolutely abhor to see in horror stories, toddlers one was exempt from the Grinder. That made it [...]

    9. This was a First Book Giveaway.This is a well written and descriptive book. It is not a book I would normally pick up to read but I am glad I won it or I would have missed a very interesting book. It was a fast read, and you never figure our how it will end. I look forward to checking out the authors other books.

    10. I really, really liked this story. This needs to be a movie. For fans of THE THING, THE BLOB and that film SPLINTER. It's crazy good. If not a film, then Netflix needs to snatch up the rights for a limited series.

    11. ABR's original The Grinding audiobook review and many others can be found at Audiobook Reviewer.The Grinding by Matt Dinniman is action packed, fast moving adventure that screams sci-fi and aliens. However, that would be a false assumption. Dinniman sets the story up for the reader to reach that conclusion early on so that when one reaches the truth behind The Grinder, one cannot help but sit there gape-mouthed and stunned. I was truly not expecting this huge, really huge twist!The main characte [...]

    12. I actually came across this book when I met the author at World Horror Convention in Portland Oregon just a week ago. He had given me a copy of the book and asked me to let him know what I thought about the fast food manager in his story. I let him know his intent was on the mark.It is that last word there then that leads me into my review of the book. Matt Dinnaman has penned what I can only call one of the most intense mental twists of all time. Like the Grinder of this story, once the tale it [...]

    13. I received a free copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review. The Grinding is an amazing horror story written in first person as Adam, the main character recounts the events of the past six months. Adam is a survivor that saw the beginning of The Grinder's destruction on Tucson. As he struggles to fight the pull of the Grinder, he's on a quest to save his wife Jennifer, one of the first people to fall victim to the Grinder. This was a well written and plausible horror novel. I enjoyed r [...]

    14. I wish this would allow partial stars, as I would rate this a 3.75, pretty close to 4 stars. This was a hard book to put down, because I always wanted to know what would happen next. And just like a roller coaster, when there was a lot of action, the story would slow just a little to let you catch your breath before it kicked into gear again. And while I normally dislike authors, or films, or television shows that will give you that little twist at the end, this time it worked. I do not want to [...]

    15. Hmm, I'm not sure what to make of this book. It's certainly not a bad novel but I doubt it's going to be a classic. To be fair I thought it was going to be terrible at the start but it doesn't take very long to get going, although it seems to take a long time to get there,and the narrator isn't as obnoxious as I thought he would be. It's also rather surprising how thoughtful the story is with the motivation of the monster being quite theological.I'll keep it on my shelf but highly unlikely I'll [...]

    16. a great read took me the day to read, a interesting read, well written and narration written from a first person view. in total I will give this book a well deserved 4.5,

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *