Meet the Dullards

Meet the Dullards In the tradition of The Stupids Meet the Dullards is a clever and irreverent picture book about a comically boring family from bestselling author Sara Pennypacker and illustrator Daniel Salmieri The

  • Title: Meet the Dullards
  • Author: Sara Pennypacker Daniel Salmieri
  • ISBN: 9780062198563
  • Page: 450
  • Format: Hardcover
  • In the tradition of The Stupids, Meet the Dullards is a clever and irreverent picture book about a comically boring family, from bestselling author Sara Pennypacker and illustrator Daniel Salmieri.Their home is boring Their food is plain Their lives are monotonous And Mr and Mrs Dullard like it that way.But their children Blanda, Borely, and Little Dud have other ideaIn the tradition of The Stupids, Meet the Dullards is a clever and irreverent picture book about a comically boring family, from bestselling author Sara Pennypacker and illustrator Daniel Salmieri.Their home is boring Their food is plain Their lives are monotonous And Mr and Mrs Dullard like it that way.But their children Blanda, Borely, and Little Dud have other ideas Never has dullness been so hilarious than in this deadpan, subversive tale.

    One thought on “Meet the Dullards”

    1. Clearly there is a misconception between the parent's and the children's ideas of fun. Why would you read books with pictures and words when an acceptable blank piece of paper will do. Watching the paint dry on the wall is exciting yeah, not for the children. The Dullards move into a new home hoping to ensure the boredom will stay because at the other place it was like a circus There was a snail in the driveway causing grief. Ha! They went from a square home to a triangle home. Very plain neighb [...]

    2. What's good about it:MEET THE DULLARDS has a clever concept and witty sight gags. Children and adults alike will snicker at the family that is so dull they literally watch paint dry as a form of entertainment. What's not so good:The theme of this story is that the Dullard children have less-dull aspirations. While Mr. and Mrs. Dullard attempt to shield their children from all forms of excitement, the kids end up breaking out of the shapeless gray mold and joining a circus! The bad thing is, it's [...]

    3. Aeverie and I both enjoyed this book. I did think the ending was kind of abrupt though. It does have nice illustrations though. I don't think there was much of a story being told here. This is a family who prefer to be dull, but their children feel otherwise, and this pretty much tells how these kids do things that are not dull, but spontaneous and fun.

    4. This is a story about Mr. and Mrs. Dullard who try to raise their three children- Blanda, Borely, and Little Dud - without any “upsetting” commotion, such as, for instance, leaves turning colors. The parents’ idea of a good time is watching paint dry - as long as it’s a dull color, of course. Needless to say, the kids end up running off to join the circus.Daniel Salmieri uses watercolor, gouache and colored-pencil scenes to capture the contrast between the preferred oatmeal tones of the [...]

    5. Really cute illustrations that first show the dullard kids reading about circus tricks, then shows them practicing their tricks at the hardware/paint store, then shows them honing their skills in the backyard, before finally joining the circus. None of it is mentioned in the text :)Fun book, I especially liked having the Dullards buy grey-beige paint and then watching it dry (but will kids get this?).

    6. This is a great story of dull parents determined to protect their equally dull children - Blanda, Borely, and Little Dud - from anything remotely colourful, interesting and fun. The children are determined to have fun and keep finding it. The illustrations are wonderful. I particularly like a swooning Mrs. Dullard when confronted with a room in their new house.

    7. This book is pretty darn funny, but a lot of the humor comes from comparing the text to the silly illustrations which might be hard to convey in larger storytimes. Either way, it reminded me of when my mom used to read "The Dumb Bunnies" to me and my brothers before bed and we'd analyze every page for the funny jokes hidden within the illustrations which gave me some warm fuzzies.

    8. 4.25 starsI just don't generally laugh out loud, it just isn't my personality description, but when I do actually LOL is a real jolly LOL!This book just tickles my fancy! Thanks Sara, a fun book with wit and humor!

    9. Hilarious. I think this would be a great picture book to share with 1st and 2nd graders. I LOVE all of the fun details to discover in the illustrations. Don't forget to look at the back cover!

    10. picture book (read aloud for older kids, grades 2 and up)* great illustrations, you have to see them to get the whole story (not a good choice for dial a story), with funny visual gags throughout.Haven't tried this yet as a read aloud, but I'll put it on my list of possibilities for older/mixed grade groups.Themes: * books can take you anywhere (summer reading 2018)* Boredom (pair with I'm Bored)

    11. This is a good read for a slightly older group, probably best reserved for the most tongue in cheek humored family. It is very similar to The Stupids, though The Stupids will always reserve that special dumb humor in my heart.

    12. This book is hilarious---unfortunately the humor was way over the heads of everyone younger than third grade. I'd recommend it for older elementary students and up.

    13. Shows the life of a very boring family with their boring routines. Funny as an adult, but I think as a child, this wouldn't be my first pick.

    14. Another funny book that benefits from Pennypacker's sense of humor as well as Salmieri's illustrations. Big favorite in this house.

    15. Funny story about a family of Dull folk whose children want to live a fun, lively, and colorful life by joining the circus

    16. I thought this book was going to be funny. It wasn't. I guess the Dullards would be happy because it was utterly boring. Just how they like it. Perhaps that was the goal.

    17. This was actually pretty funny! The humor comes from how outrageously boring/minimalistic the Dullards are! I liked how in the end the Dullard children were having fun behind their parents backs.

    18. Deadpan humor and a great story about the world's most boring family. Well, parents anyway! Loved this book.

    19. This book is deep. Yes, the parents are dull and only want the dull life for their children. But, perhaps insert something other than dull and you see how parents truly influence their children. The children rebel and want to do all the things they are not allowed to do. Now I ask you, when is having a dog dull?

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *