The Parallel Place

The Parallel Place Habitan Book I The Parallel Place Melissa Michael and Annabelle were each separated from their parents as infants Our story begins where they now live together in an orphanage in northern Canada in

  • Title: The Parallel Place
  • Author: Cheryl Skory Suma Melissa Suma
  • ISBN: 9780993959127
  • Page: 377
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Habitan Book I The Parallel Place Melissa, Michael and Annabelle were each separated from their parents as infants Our story begins where they now live, together in an orphanage in northern Canada in the 1600 s Discovering a strange kinship, they have become true friends, and support one another But why do they feel they are meant to be somewhere else Is this where thHabitan Book I The Parallel Place Melissa, Michael and Annabelle were each separated from their parents as infants Our story begins where they now live, together in an orphanage in northern Canada in the 1600 s Discovering a strange kinship, they have become true friends, and support one another But why do they feel they are meant to be somewhere else Is this where they truly belong Then a mysterious event occurs, transporting them to another land called Habitan, a magical place where anything and everything is possible if you believe and strive hard enough In Habitan, sorcery, magic, and powers of the mind abound Animals talk, and the spirit of the woods is alive While in Habitan, the children join forces with three animal guides, encounter a wicked sorceress named Oskana , and embark on an adventure to discover their true heritage and destiny Can they develop their innate powers and magical gifts soon enough to protect themselves and to help the Good of Habitan Will they be reunited with their parents again Who can they really trust How can they save Habitan from the tyranny of Oskana s rule Finally, how do the events on Habitan affect the Parallel Place, the earth they grew up on The children discover that they may be Habitan s last hope for salvation from the evil sorceress Oskana They face challenges and surprising twists along the way, all while also developing their own innate gifts and magic As they begin the path to finding their own inner strength, they learn how to face unbearable odds with determination and courage, standing up for what is right despite the possible personal costs Inspiration for the Habitan Series by Cheryl Skory Suma The author s children grew up enthralled with their mother s bedtime stories Then came the question, Mommy, could you write me a longer story The Habitan Series grew out of these imaginative bedtime stories and the author promises continued plot twists, surprises and new mysteries along the way in this four book series A proud Canadian, Cheryl has a multicultural background that includes not only Canadian settlers of various European descent, but also one quarter Cree Indian Inuit mix from her maternal grandmother Her grandmother s spirit and grace were inspirational to the creation of this story and the use of Cree as the basis for the magical language of Habitan The scenery and animals behind the story were drawn from the naturally varied and beautiful landscape of Canada Resources for Teachers, Librarians and Book Clubs Chapter questions and discussion notes can be found on the Habitan Series website, HabitanBooks.

    One thought on “The Parallel Place”

    1. Middle Grade Fiction can really be a breath of fresh air. It's generally cleaner, lighter, and more innocent than what you get from the Young Adult or Adult genres. I don't read enough of it.That's what The Parallel Place was for me--a breath of fresh air. It was very different from what I'm used to reading, and I enjoyed that.The story begins with Melissa, Michael, and Annabelle caught up in another world--a mystical land known as Habitan, and a place that felt like more of a home than their dr [...]

    2. Following in the tradition of Narnia, Habitan is an exciting fantasy adventure with a unique story-world and multifaceted characters. I picked up Habitan at the Toronto International Book Fair 2014 expecting a fun adventure plot and I wasn’t let down. The plot itself is a pretty common one: children discover their powerful birthright, but I liked what the author did to change up a common trope.The book, Habitan: The Parallel Place is set in two lands: our earth, and the fantastical world of Ha [...]

    3. This novel is inspirational in so many regards. I felt inspired to write, inspired to stand up for what is right in the face of authority or fear, and inspired by the light of children.I describe Habitan as a hybrid novel with fantasy, action, and adventure elements. It is innocent, action-packed, refreshing, and a fabulous read.Habitan appeals to a broad range of ages. The plot and characters are well suited for the 9-12 age group. That being said, as an adolescent, I felt that I was really abl [...]

    4. This is a captivating book drawing on the energy of nature and taking you into the magical world of Habitan. Its intriguing story line takes the young readers on a journey to discover the true power of being brave and standing up for what you believe in. It has a strong link to the values of the True North and the bond between man and nature displayed through the quest of the 3 young heroes. The book is easy to read, thought provoking and is perfect for pre-teen and teen audience.

    5. This book is a well-written and exciting adventure from start to finish. The story jumps right into the action. I would recommend this novel to anyone interested in the fantasy genre.

    6. I bought this book as a Christmas present for my younger brother but I had to read it myself and I have to say that it was an extremely enjoyable experience. Not only is the writing flawless and the pictures amazing, but the twists and turns are exactly what Cheryl Skory Suma promised her readers. One of my favourite aspects was how she drew on her Cree heritage for inspiration. It is really nice to see when authors use their own backgrounds and experiences to write. I feel that it makes the who [...]

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *