Where the Souls Go

Where the Souls Go At the age of ten Annie Todd finds not only is her mother quite mad but that Annie has inherited an unusual legacy The ghost of a young girl visits Annie in her new home deep in the mountains of West

  • Title: Where the Souls Go
  • Author: Ann Hite
  • ISBN: null
  • Page: 397
  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • At the age of ten, Annie Todd finds not only is her mother quite mad but that Annie has inherited an unusual legacy The ghost of a young girl visits Annie in her new home deep in the mountains of Western North Carolina, where Annie s mother, Grace Jean, has hidden them away from the life they used to know Annie finds an unlikely ally in Pearl, a young woman who keeps houAt the age of ten, Annie Todd finds not only is her mother quite mad but that Annie has inherited an unusual legacy The ghost of a young girl visits Annie in her new home deep in the mountains of Western North Carolina, where Annie s mother, Grace Jean, has hidden them away from the life they used to know Annie finds an unlikely ally in Pearl, a young woman who keeps house in Annie s new home The secrets that surround Pearl take Annie s mind off her loneliness and soon her family history is revealed to her Instead of wind, I heard my name being called The whispery voice came from the woods Annie Todd My sixth sense had not yet kicked in and didn t warn me I was standing on the backbone of my history WHERE THE SOULS GO is Ann Hite s third novel set in Black Mountain, North Carolina Readers who loved GHOST ON BLACK MOUNTAIN, Hite s first novel, will find many of the characters familiar This book follows three generations of the Pritchard family, not only telling the story of how Hobbs Pritchard became the villain of Black Mountain, but highlighting women s struggles in Appalachia, beginning in the Depression Era and ending in the mid sixties.

    One thought on “Where the Souls Go”

    1. People here believe the mountain collects the souls of people who have a special gift, the folks who hear the mountain's voice.3.5 stars. I really love this author. I love that her southern books are filled with seers, healers, haints, spells and witches, but also with strong but broken women. Ann Hite also never shares this story in a linear way, instead she starts at the end and we the stories interweave with each other. The only reason it rates lower than her other books, is that I read the l [...]

    2. Ann Hite expertly weaves the stories of three generations of Appalachian women using a common thread of supernatural senses and experiences, dashed hopes and dreams, and ultimately, goodness and healing. While the characters' lives are intermingled, and sometimes complexly so, each narrative stands strong on its own. Hite makes it is easy to immerse oneself into the lives of the characters, and somewhere in the midst of that magic, the details fall beautifully into place.I highly recommend readi [...]

    3. All of the beautiful mountain language, wrapped up in prose that reads like pure poetry at times, telling a tale straight out of the hills, with as many twists and turns as a rocky mountain trail. You'll want to climb it for sure, for the views are all breathtaking. And like a mountain, you never know what is around the next corner. Ann keeps us in suspense while painting a canvas of the magnificent place that is Black Mountain.

    4. Sometimes you finish a book that takes you with it and leaves you sad to be moving on. Where the Souls Go is one of those books. Even though the Pritchard women's stories are horrifying, I felt immersed in their worlds and will be thinking about them long after I have turned that last page. Another fantastic Black Mountain novel. Thank you, Ann Hite!

    5. This book follows the lives of several women from the same family over almost a century. However, it is told completely out of order and context in several points of view. All these women are idiots who put themselves in crapy places in life and don't do anything about it but hope that it will compel their children to have a better life but don't do anything to help them and often are the cause their daughters make the same or worse choices than they do. They are all spineless doormats who keep [...]

    6. Where the Souls Go is a tale of secrets and tragedy within a family. It seems that each generation of this family has a secret to keep, from AzLeigh to Grace Jean and Pearl, and finally Annie Todd, who tries to figure out why her family is touched by tragedy and who the ghost girl is who seems to be attached to them. Through the stories of these characters, we slowly discover why each woman is the way that she is, what tragedy has molded and shaped her, and what difficult choices she made to sur [...]

    7. I've read all of Ann Hite's books and one e-novella published before this one and I think this is the best so far. All her books take place primarily in the Black Mountain, Swannoa Gap area and many of the same characters are in different books. Where the Souls Go concerns three generations of girls/women. Their stories are told in reverse chronological order. We experience them as grandmother, mother, and child and the ghost girl that all of them are able to talk to. Ann Hite has created a Faul [...]

    8. This book was another great read. You are drawn into these women's lives and suffer their pain. Destiny is carried down through generations with no cure coming. Secrets, revenge, cultural misfortune, death, and repeating the mistakes for generationsI love the mysteries and heritage told of mountain living. It may be fiction.but it is also true for some.

    9. This is the third novel set in Ann Hite's Black Mountain. Multiple viewpoints allow you inside all the characters' thoughts, and you understand why they act the way they do. I liked this, but didn't love it as much as I did her earlier two books. Still a good read, though.

    10. Great addition to the series - you can read it before or after Ghost on Black Mountain, either way, you will want to read more!

    11. The Black Mountain books are scary They are books one does not want to put downd gives insight into the culture of this area in many respects. I look forward to my next Ann Hite read.

    12. With more people, I really needed an up to date family tree.Kind of sad now because I have read ( I think ) all of the books in order. It is like saying good by to a group of old acquaintances. Thank you Ann for many hours of interesting reading.

    13. It was thrilling, but i do feel some answers still missing (spoiler alert here) like why wasn't it made clear that the mother knew her long time boyfriend had raped her daughter/ which her daughter got over with the friends help but then became twice the bitch of the mother it jumped back and forth a little much and i think when I re-read it, which it will happen because I dont feel I captured its essence i will read the last chapters first to give me clarity about the beginning. it also gave m [...]

    14. Here's the deal with this book. The story was fine, but it took so long to figure out how these characters were related to characters in Hite's previous book that it near about drove me crazy. I really did worry about the state of my memory, because I couldn't remember any of the names. Then I spent half the time wishing there was a family tree in the beginning of the book so I could figure out who these people were. At around 80% in, it hit me that I wasn't supposed to know until the end who th [...]

    15. 3.6. I went back and forth in my mind about my opinions of this book. It's told mostly in reverse and lots of cultural odysseys of living in No Ga and NC mountains during the 1920' s50's Spirits speak to folks and folklore runs rampant. Women were definitely second class citizens, and seemed everyone was stuck in this life cycle. Women passed their pain down from one generation to the next. If hope was lost, and God didn't seem to answer their plea, people turned to spirits, ghost, and ancestry [...]

    16. Haunting--but not because of its ghosts--Where the Souls Go is as beautifully rendered as the handiwork Hite uses as metaphor for her women. A strong story about strong women and the power of redemption to overcome the evil that comes when truths are hidden instead of set free.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *