The Woolworths Girls

The Woolworths Girls Can romance blossom in times of trouble It s and as the threat of war hangs over the country Sarah Caselton is preparing for her new job at Woolworths Before long she forms a tight bond with tw

  • Title: The Woolworths Girls
  • Author: ElaineEverest
  • ISBN: 9781447295488
  • Page: 198
  • Format: Paperback
  • Can romance blossom in times of trouble It s 1938 and as the threat of war hangs over the country, Sarah Caselton is preparing for her new job at Woolworths Before long, she forms a tight bond with two of her colleagues the glamorous Maisie and shy Freda The trio couldn t be different, but they immediately form a close knit friendship, sharing their hopes and dreaCan romance blossom in times of trouble It s 1938 and as the threat of war hangs over the country, Sarah Caselton is preparing for her new job at Woolworths Before long, she forms a tight bond with two of her colleagues the glamorous Maisie and shy Freda The trio couldn t be different, but they immediately form a close knit friendship, sharing their hopes and dreams for the future Sarah soon falls into the rhythm of her new position, enjoying the social events hosted by Woolies and her blossoming romance with young assistant manager, Alan But with the threat of war clouding the horizon, the young men and women of Woolworths realize that there are bigger battles ahead It s a dangerous time for the nation, and an even perilous time to fall in love

    One thought on “The Woolworths Girls”

    1. jerasjamboree/2016/0I enjoyed getting to know Sarah, Freda and Maisie. Intrigue from their pasts had me trying to work out what they were running from and why they were drawn to Erith. Their growing friendship which begins at the Woolies interview is interesting because they are such different people. Their strengths and weaknesses compliment each other and they learn when to push those friendship boundaries without fear of reprisals.There are some fabulous characters we get to meet too. Sarah's [...]

    2. When you pick up a book like The Woolworths Girls you’re looking a comfort read. I think most of us are aware that the ‘good old days’ weren’t quite so good, but what the author brings us is that magical sense of nostalgia for things past, perhaps things lost, a sense of family, of belonging and community spirit. Opening at the beginning of WWII, telling the story of three young girls setting out on an uncertain journey to adulthood, a journey made more daunting by the impending war, the [...]

    3. I fell in love with this book from the first page! It is just utterly engrossing, the storyline sweeps you along, the characters are likeable and I felt wrapped up in their stories and also the setting of WW2 following the highs and the lows, friendship and romance. I really can't wait to catch up with Sarah, Maisie and Frieda in Christmas at Woolworths later this year and have just ordered The Butlins Girls by the same author and can't wait for it to arrive!

    4. This was an heartwarming book from start to end and take you back in time and you believe you are there with them as so well written. You get to know three main characters who work at woolworths and it's a hard time as threat of war and each character is different but they get on so well and can they find love or not well worth reading and now really looking forward to the follow on book soon.

    5. The Woolworths Girls is an engaging and sentimental novel. Woolworths is a place that I think we all have some memories of. Being a child in the shop’s later days, I still remember the excitement of popping in for some pick ‘n mix and a root through the cheap toys and CDs. When discussing this book, I also learnt that my gran had worked in Woolworths when she was younger and so it is one of those places that a lot of people think fondly of. In the book, I enjoyed reading detail of the dynami [...]

    6. I really enjoyed this book. It's easy to read, it had short chapters and it kept my interest all the way through. The three main characters Sarah, Maisie and Freda meet for the first time at a job interview in Woolworths in 1938. They very quickly become firm friends, and are there for each other as the country goes to war. Having the Woolworths store central to the storyline makes this book different from others that are set during the same period. I will definitely be looking for Elaine Everes [...]

    7. Found it slow going at times but ended up finishing it. Liked the characters which was the main reason I continued.

    8. The Woolworths Girls is one of those books that as soon as you see the cover and peek inside you just know you are going to love it!Set in 1938, Sarah has left her parents’ home in Devon and is starting a new life in Erith with her Nan. She applies for a sales assistant job at the large Woolworths store. While waiting for the interview she meets Freda and Maisie will all three girls be taken on? A young man in the assistant manager role also takes her eye Alan is charming and calls her Sixpe [...]

    9. I have not read an old fashioned book in ages but I really liked this book, life was so much simpler then. Recommend.

    10. Woolworth girlsI love this type of book. I was born in England and my favourite store was Woolworth s . Just like the author I bought my first pair of tights there.

    11. The Woolworth Girls is the début novel from Elaine Everest set just before and during World War Two in the riverside town of Erith. But what sets this delightful book apart from all the numerous other books in the genre of women's wartime sagas is the fact that in this case the war is more of a backdrop to the story, as Woolworths takes centre stage. I'll readily admit I don't know that much about Woolworths as it was well before my time but from reading this book I can sense it was a British i [...]

    12. This is the first book I’ve finished in nearly 3 weeks. I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump and desperately needed a pick me up. So when a friend bought me this book as a surprise, I knew Elaine would bring me back to my senses. Elaine pulled me out of an earlier reading slump back in May with The Butlins girls. I absolutely LOVED The Woolworths girls. The book is set in my hometown – Erith, Kent and mentions day trips to Margate. Margate is also a place I’m very familiar with as my pa [...]

    13. Great readI chose this book because as a child remember Woolworths and how I would often go with my mum or Nan to the shop either at Chiswick high street or Brentford high street.Brought back lots of memories of ladybird clothes and all manor of bits and pieces.

    14. Oh my gosh, I love this book. I love the characters, and miss them so much. I was so worried when I looked that Erith did get bombed and feared one of the characters would die!! Oh my gosh, a must read!!

    15. I'm a Woolworths girlAs an ex employee of Woolworths from 1998-2001, I wondered how my experienced compared to those during the war. Unfortunately I was working when Woolworths was on t h e decline and although I enjoyed my time with them, t h e experience was far removed from that of Sarah, Freda & Maisie. I would have loved to have been around at the time the stores were thriving and life was so different perhaps avoiding the war years!Having said that I loved the way Elaine had tied the l [...]

    16. Fans of Lyn Andrews and Donna Douglas are going to love Elaine Everest’s gripping wartime saga of friendship, family and romance, The Woolworths Girls!The gathering clouds of the Second World War are fast approaching, but nothing can deter Sarah Caselton from the excitement she’s feeling having just been taken on as a shop assistant by Woolworths! Away from her social-climbing mother’s stifling clutches, Sarah has moved to Erith in Devon and is loving living with her feisty but kind-hearte [...]

    17. The Woolworths GirlsI really enjoyed this audiobook and ended up listening through the night because I just had to know the end of the story.Set in the war it gave a glimpse of what life was like in war time Britain with people being called up to fight for their country and women doing war time work.A love story set in Woolies with a proposal at the pan counter and a separation when missing in action and hope was lost for a time.Very well narrated and well worth a read.Highly recommended.

    18. The title of this novel intrigued me right away. Who doesn’t remember dear old Woolies? Still miss them on the High Street. The story centres around three young women in the year before WWII starts, Sarah, who lives with her Nan in Erith, Kent; Freda, who’s run away her Midlands home in an attempt to locate her rapscallion brother; and Maisie, who, after being a bit of a good time girl has settled down happily to married life with her Joe. Despite being so different, the trio become fast fri [...]

    19. In 1938, in the riverside town of Erith, Sarah, Maisie and Freda have arrived for their interviews at F.W. Woolworths. After instantly hitting it off, the trio’s biggest concern is will they each be given one of the three available positions? The girls quickly form a firm friendship and are taken under the wing of Sarah’s Nan, Ruby. However, two of the girls are hiding a secret from their past, ones that they believe could ruin everything. Little do they know that in the coming months their [...]

    20. It's December 1938 and 3 young women-Sarah, Maisie and Freda are all new employees at the Erith branch of Woolworths. The three girls quickly form a close friendship and begin to make plans together and share their hopes and dreams for the future.However as the clouds of war descends over the country, the hopes and dreams of each of the girls changes and as they do, the girls learn the true meaning of friendship and loyalty. A very enjoyable and heartwarming read. It's perfect for fans of Kate T [...]

    21. In 1938, when war is a strong possiblility, three young women are emplyed by the Erith branch of Woolworths.All the characters, including the minor ones, are interesting. As I read about their ‘trials and tribulations; I cared abouth them and hoped the author, Elaine Everest, would allow them to find happiness by the end of the Second World War.I am impressed by Elaine Everest’s meticulous research, which enable her to recreate the past.I really enjoyed this well-written novel and recommend [...]

    22. What a brilliant readI choose this book because its a new author and I loved the store brings back lots of childhood memories for me. It's been one of the best family sagas I have read this year. And I love a challenge. Easy reading lots of heartache and happy times. I loved it looking forward to this author's second book now. Thank you to the author

    23. This was a lovely book to read about three friends and their life's at work in Woolworths and their home life during ww2. I was sorry when it ended I would have liked to know what happened next.

    24. GrippingSupposed to be 5 star but it wouldNot do that. So good that I stayed up for 2 hours past bedtime to finish it!

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *