The Heirloom

The Heirloom What if your dreams were memories of another life Living in a medieval city on the west coast of Ireland Amanda Morrison has always questioned her birth family s past When a long lost aunt bequeaths

  • Title: The Heirloom
  • Author: Evie Gaughan
  • ISBN: null
  • Page: 333
  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • What if your dreams were memories of another life Living in a medieval city on the west coast of Ireland, Amanda Morrison has always questioned her birth family s past When a long lost aunt bequeaths an unusual gift, it unlocks a doorway to the past and a timeless love story.Xavier de la Cruz is a man sailing away from his problems and setting course Ireland There, he wiWhat if your dreams were memories of another life Living in a medieval city on the west coast of Ireland, Amanda Morrison has always questioned her birth family s past When a long lost aunt bequeaths an unusual gift, it unlocks a doorway to the past and a timeless love story.Xavier de la Cruz is a man sailing away from his problems and setting course Ireland There, he will find a woman he has never met, but knows by heart With a cast of characters that will both warm the heart and challenge beliefs, The Heirloom is perfect for fans of Diana Gabaldon, Rachel Hore and Kate Morton.

    One thought on “The Heirloom”

    1. When I started my Green Giants (Irish Author Spotlight) feature, my hope was that I would help other readers find Irish Authors to enjoy. I didn’t realise that it would also introduce me to great writers that I might never have come across. Such as Evie Gaughan, who approached me to read and review The Cross of Santiago. She only had to mention the magic words, Galway and Time Travel, and I was in!First Line of The Cross of Santiago:“Wake up Amanda, wake up!”My Thoughts on The Cross of San [...]

    2. Book review originally published here: iheartreading/book-touThe Cross of Santiago is a heart-warming, astonishing novel of love and destiny. Even though it’s more than 350 pages, I finished it in just a few hours. The writing really pulls you in from the start, and it doesn’t take long before you start to care about the characters and the adventures they find themselves in.Amanda Morrison longs for something more than her current life. After a series of failed relationships, she’s long lo [...]

    3. I received this book in exchange for my honest review.I enjoyed reading this book! I like the idea of jumping between different centuries and stories, and I think Evie Gaughan does a good job building the characters and revealing their stories, past, connections, etc.It also make me very curious about Galway and all the surroundings; I recently moved to Ireland, so having the opportunity to read about new places and finding out more about their history is always interesting to me.The only thing [...]

    4. Truthfully, I hadn’t heard of this author or book before but this is one of the best debuts I’ve read in years. The story was perfection. An instant favourite.Being from Ireland myself and this being set on the West Coast of Ireland (which I love) made it all the more real and charming. From the descriptions of the West to the various nods to Irish language and culture, this book appealed to me in a way that many other books just can’t. As historical fiction goes, I enjoyed the modern day [...]

    5. I thought this was a charming romance without being twee. Gaughan interweaves 16th century Spain with 21st century Ireland to bring us two love stories connected by the ill-fated Spanish Armada voyage so there's lots of interesting historical detail too which has been well researched.

    6. A story of the past finally completed in the future.Those that like historical romance will enjoy this book. Beautiful story of of an Irish lass and a Spanish Knight from the Armada which crashed on the shores of Ireland. A devastating hurricane brought the 2 together when the Spanish were trying to defeat England in 1500's. Fast forward to the present day and how an heirloom unites their fate. This book has a great true historical background. Good read.

    7. Loved itI choose this rating because all together it was a fascinating story combining history within the current day. I admired this aspect of the book entwining the theme through the couples' stories of love, loss and healing. Since I have visited Galway, the book brought familiar sites to mind which made history come alive. I'm glad I found this book and would recommend it to a lover of Ireland, history and romance.

    8. This could have been a much better story. The first half of the book was slow and then the last half felt very rushed. Some of the characters needed mor development and there was too much time spent on the Spanish Armada.

    9. I liked this book. It was a quick, enjoyable read. I ad a little bit of a hard time getting into the story and liking the main characters, but after awhile, it grew on me. The historical aspects in regards to the Spanish Armada and the attic on England were very interesting and well researched.

    10. I received this book in exchange for my honest review. Thank you Itching for Books and Evie Gaughan for giving me the chance to read The Cross of Santiago.This is the second book I ever read that it this genre. I’m not a big fan of historical fiction, but I loved this book. I appreciate it even more when I saw that the author self published. I have a great appreciation for authors who have the courage to do this and they always have amazing books and incredible stories. The Cross of Santiago f [...]

    11. Honestly, this book got off to a bit of a slow start, but it picked up quickly and I am glad I got to review it.This book follows Amanda, a young woman who was orphaned as a child and hasn't yet set a good future path for herself. She finds herself in possession of a very unique medallion that brings about many changes in her life. She soons finds herself on a new path. A path filled with history and intrigue.This book had a lot of mystery. I was adopted and so I can relate to Amanda as a charac [...]

    12. I received a free copy of this book for an honest review.The Cross of Santiago belongs in several different genres which makes it interesting. It starts out with Amanda, the main character, being in a relationship with a married man and not doing much with her life. Once she receives the Cross of Santiago from an aunt she never knew, she begins to change and she realizes she’s on a track to nowhere.I enjoyed watching Amanda grow as the story progressed. It seems the more she delves into the pa [...]

    13. I was certainly intrigued by the different plot threads which Evie Gaughan evolves in The Cross of Santiago, but the pace of the story is relatively slow and I found myself growing impatient for characters to meet and events to occur.I have never read a story like The Cross of Santiago and Evie Gaughan's attention to detail is amazing, particularly when writing about the historical part of the story. She combines the different areas of the plot in a way I was unprepared for and found especially [...]

    14. I was given this book by the author in exchange for an honest review.To know one soulmate, but not to know one yourself,that was the story of Amanda and Xavier life.Amanda was adopted and lost in this world having no tries to her biological family. Xavier was just sailing thru life one contest after another, they had two things in common, they both had no past and they could feel a connection to the other. Most of this story take in the 1500s so if you love historical romance, adventure and humo [...]

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *