Mad Merlin

Mad Merlin In the tradition of The Mists of Avalon and Mythago Wood J Robert King weaves an epic tale of Avalon Excalibur the Once and Future king and the magician Merlin as he draws on the ideas and writing

  • Title: Mad Merlin
  • Author: J. Robert King
  • ISBN: 9780812584271
  • Page: 409
  • Format: Paperback
  • In the tradition of The Mists of Avalon and Mythago Wood, J Robert King weaves an epic tale of Avalon, Excalibur, the Once and Future king, and the magician Merlin as he draws on the ideas and writings of Joseph Campbell to shape and interpret the legendary Arthurian mythos.

    One thought on “Mad Merlin”

    1. Mad Merlin is without a doubt a different book and a long one as well. I'll come to that later. The story starts from Uther asking Merlin help to seduce Igraine and continues with the classic growing up of Arthur with Kay and Ector, Arthur becoming king and then his first big battle against the Saxons.The novel is definitely an epic one, rich of characters and interwined mythos. In particular the mythology part of this book is the best part. Merlin is Jove, he is mad, as in he sees visions, he c [...]

    2. Definitely an interesting take on the Arthurian legend. With my love of both Arthur and Norse mythology, this combination of the two (with a dash of Roman myth tossed in) brought new elements to this old story. My favorite parts were early on, when Merlin was truly mad (or, more likely, schizophrenic, which is apparently even more devastating when you're a wizard) and he was struggling to figure out who he was. Also the appearances of both Loki and Odin (Wotan) brought elements of unknown, givin [...]

    3. I hit another dud here. "But Stephanie," you say, "with a title like that, what were you expecting?" (At least, that's what it sounded like you said. Really shouldn't talk with your mouth full.) Anyway, I kind of like giving Arthurian-based fiction a shot, just in case it's awesome (and it sometimes is). This was not one of those times. The cover said the author was doing a brilliant retelling, weaving in the ideas of Joseph Campbell. Um. If by "weaving" you mean hauling out a generic myth and b [...]

    4. Basically a retelling of the Merlin’s side of the story from before Arthur’s conception to after the epic battle between the Saxons and the Britons as well as their respective gods. A must read for those who are interested in the myths. Some slightly different takes on things, pulling from the classics of course. The first in a trilogy.

    5. Okay, I didn't really finish it, but the incorrectness (for lack of a better fake word!) of the plot really threw me off. I was really hoping for a retelling/reinterpretation of the story, a la Marion Zimmer Bradley. Merlin's antics in Mad Merlin started to get old rather than humorous or quirky.

    6. VERY good mix of "what could have happened" and fantasy -- love the way the author pulls in the "island" stories, as well as the pantheon of beliefs held. looking forward to learning about Lancelot in book 2 of the series

    7. One of my all time favorite books from the Arthurian genre with a very different take on Merlin's true identity as he struggles to remember who he is and what he's supposed to do.

    8. Fantastic book im sure you've never heard of. Probably my favorite version of the Merlin/Arthur story and by far the one I found to be most thought provoking.

    9. In this story Merlin is stark raving bonkers and he's the main character. Great story, written like an older tale.

    10. Interesting re-telling of the story of King Arthur. I really liked it, and I recognize that a lot of research went into this book. Merlin's viewpoint is unique.

    11. Awesomely written, the detail painted a great picture. I loved this version of the story, how merlin was portrayed Just a great way to tell the story no silly childrens fantasy here.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *