Dungeon: Zenith - Vol. 1: Duck Heart

Dungeon Zenith Vol Duck Heart Welcome to Dungeon the looniest world of horror and heroic fantasy you ll ever be transported into This series a best seller in many countries starts with the apogee of Dungeon a mighty castle fil

  • Title: Dungeon: Zenith - Vol. 1: Duck Heart
  • Author: Joann Sfar Lewis Trondheim
  • ISBN: 9781561634019
  • Page: 161
  • Format: Paperback
  • Welcome to Dungeon, the looniest world of horror and heroic fantasy you ll ever be transported into This series, a best seller in many countries, starts with the apogee of Dungeon, a mighty castle filled with monsters, trolls and goblins kept by a wily bird, the Dungeon Keeper, and the object of desire of many an uncouth and disgusting form of life and afterlife and HerWelcome to Dungeon, the looniest world of horror and heroic fantasy you ll ever be transported into This series, a best seller in many countries, starts with the apogee of Dungeon, a mighty castle filled with monsters, trolls and goblins kept by a wily bird, the Dungeon Keeper, and the object of desire of many an uncouth and disgusting form of life and afterlife and Herbert the Timorous Duck is assigned to defend it Thank goodness, the Dungeon Keeper has assigned Marvin the Dragon, a blood thirsty, uh, vegetarian warrior, to his side.

    One thought on “Dungeon: Zenith - Vol. 1: Duck Heart”

    1. I picked this up thinking it would be a light diversion - nothing serious. And it is until it isn't. This book is a lot of fun, and it is also remarkably smart, charming, tragic, sad, and wise. I don't know how it manages to pull off so many different feats - but I think it has something to do with the fast paced storytelling, the delicious artwork, the refusal to ever take itself too seriously, and the ability to make the reader care about comic book creatures that look absurd.I am very excite [...]

    2. This is a really authentic and genuinely funny comic book. Although the main storyline is fairly simplistic, the pure humor, the one-liners by Herbert and the vegeterian dragon plus the cartoony yet colorful art by Trondheim makes the Dunjon: Zenith Vol. 1 a 5/5 for me.

    3. Dungeon-sarjakuvasarjan ensimmäinen ja varsin hurmaava osa. Duck heart sijoittuu fantasiamaailmaan, missä kaikki, kuten aina, on mahdollista omalla vinksahtaneella tavallaan. Herbert the Timorous Duck päätyy onnettomien yhteensattumien johdosta barbaarisoturin sijaiseksi tuhoamaan salaperäiset viittahahmot, jotka haluavat ostaa Dungeonin. Mukaansa Herbert ottaa alkuperäisen barbaarin yllä olleet miekan ja Kohtalon vyön. Vyön mielestä Herbert ei ole valmis käyttämään miekkaa, tai mi [...]

    4. My first trip to Sfar's and Trondheim's dungeon, but it won't be my last. Deadpan humor, anarchic pacing, and moments of genuine sorrow that sneak up on you out of nowhere.

    5. This book is a ton of fun. Love the art, characters, everything. Unfortunately, my old library had only a few random volumes of this, and I haven't gotten around to getting into the others.I definitely plan on reading thru them all though!

    6. This is one of the best Graphic Novels I've read in some time. One of the authors described the book as "Conan the Barbarian meets The Muppet Show," which turned out to be a fairly accurate characterization. Essentially, DUNGEON is an anthropomorphic comic parody of Dungeons & Dragons, but a quick glimpse into the book reveals that it's so much more than a parody--the world of DUNGEON really takes on a life of its own. At first glance, DUNGEON reminded me of the card game Munchkin, which als [...]

    7. It had to be fate. I saw these books at the library and they looked like they might be good BUT they didn't have the first one. I'm a completist, I could NOT start with volume 2 so I gave up. A week later, digging through a box of comics a friend had given me to sell more than a year ago, I find the first 8 comics in the series (the first 2 graphic novels). The dark, most-likely unclean, hand of some god of comedic fantasy had obviously reached into my life. I grew up reading Finieous Fingers an [...]

    8. Hi hilarity, and low-. Marvin the duck exhibits pluck and perseverance while carefully maintaining his essential cowardice and laziness, yet somehow managing to both survive and carry the day.Long-time Gamernerds especially will love it. But the book is 'spit your coffe' funny. Hernia funny. And this volume at least is a-ok for all ages. (Later volumes have more nudity and crudity, which may startle or discomfort the more easily flustered and protective of us American parent types. In our local [...]

    9. There's nothing that isn't awesome in this series. The comedy, the fantasy, the cartooning, the endless detail, invention, and novelty that populates this world. It is both a great fantasy series and a great comedy series, neither in the tradition of Pratchett or Adams. The unbelievable team of Trondheim and Sfarr break new ground in this series.This is the first book of a series with a difficult chronology-- in fact 3 separate series with many of the same characters, set in the same world. It d [...]

    10. "Gangway, fetid gnome. My virility needs space!"Very odd and very funny, with a surprisingly complex story and a cast of bizarre and instantly likeable characters (one of which is a magically animated lump of half-digested headcheese). Dungeon reads like Usagi Yojimbo crossed with Ren & Stimpy and set in the old AD&D Castle Greyhawk campaign - what's not to like! I discovered Dungeon at my local comics shop sitting on the shelf next to The Rabbi's Cat (which I had already read & love [...]

    11. I found myself smiling and laughing a lot while reading this. I found the art and the writing both to be quite entertaining. I'm definitely going to see if I can track down other volumes in this since the one I borrowed from a friend left such a good impression. I hope it would be equally amusing to somebody less familiar with all the sword and sorcery tropes it sends up, but I don't know for sure.

    12. The Dungeon series is one of the best things I've ever stumbled upon. Still trying to haphazardly make my way through the series. Fortunately you can pretty much start with any series, regardless of continuity and not feel like you're missing anything.Stylistically, it feels like a blend of Miyazaki and Aragones, but far more manic in its world building and comedy respectively. It's kind of like if Robin Williams wrote a fantasy comic -- meandering, inventive and hilarious.

    13. This was really great. Funny, a lot like a Sergio Aragones book except it doesn't make you feel like you're reading Mad magazines from the 70s, and it's not quite as silly. Which is not to say it's not silly, but it's also pretty intelligent, and weird, and kinda violent.

    14. Interesting look at dungeons (the D & D type) from the point of view of the monsters. Reminded me of the flip side of Finneous Fingers, a strip that used to run in Dragon Magazine in the 1970/80's.

    15. I liked the various spoofs they did of the D&D set, as well as the medieval pauper rescuing a princess trope.

    16. even the NYT book review (6/3/07) agrees with mea noble cowardly duck and his dragon bodyguard who are both vegetarians go out to save a dungeon from hooded thingsquite funny

    17. I didn't really get was going on for much of it.The monsters of all shapes and sizes looked really awesome.

    18. Trans. from French. A duck who works as a low-level administrator in a dungeon finds himself pressed into service as a barbarian, and goes on various quests. Lots of fun details, witty exchanges.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *